What a UK property listing must disclose is currently governed by one Act, no sector-specific guidance, and a set of commitments that have not yet been published. That is an awkward position to work in, so this page records each source separately, with its status, the date we last checked it, and a link to the primary material.
Where a date or detail is not stated by the primary source, it is not asserted here — the record says what is unconfirmed instead. Records marked Partly confirmed or Not yet confirmed carry a note explaining precisely what remains open.
Particulars is not a law firm and this is not legal advice. This page is a factual record of the sources we track, with links to the primary material so you can read it yourself. Regulatory positions change, and the position for a specific property or business may differ. Take your own advice before relying on any of it.
What the statuses mean
IN FORCE
Currently applies.
WITHDRAWN
Removed by the body that issued it and no longer maintained.
SUPERSEDED
Replaced by a later instrument, which is linked on the record.
AWAITING PUBLICATION
Committed to or consulted on, but not published as at the last review date.
EXPECTED
Announced as an intention, without a confirmed publication date.
Currently applies6
01
Digital Markets, Competition and Consumers Act 2024 — Part 4, Chapter 1 (unfair commercial practices)
IN FORCE
The current legal basis for what a property listing must say and must not misrepresent. It prohibits misleading actions (stating something false, or true but presented deceptively) and misleading omissions (leaving out information the average consumer needs to take an informed decision). It replaced the Consumer Protection from Unfair Trading Regulations 2008 for practices from 6 April 2025.
EnforcementThe CMA can decide that consumer law has been breached and impose penalties through its own administrative process, without first going to court. Penalties for breach can reach the higher of £300,000 or 10% of worldwide turnover.
Authority
UK Parliament — enforced by the Competition and Markets Authority
Status
IN FORCE — Currently applies.
Effective
Applies to commercial practices occurring on or after 6 April 2025
Note on this recordThe prohibition itself is not new — misleading actions and omissions were already unlawful under the 2008 Regulations. What changed is who enforces it and how directly.
04
CMA207 — Unfair commercial practices guidance
IN FORCEPartly confirmed
The CMA’s own guidance on how it reads the unfair commercial practices provisions of the DMCC Act: misleading actions and omissions, aggressive practices, professional diligence, and the banned practices listed in the Act. It is general consumer-protection guidance covering all sectors, not property-specific.
How Particulars uses thisThis is the closest thing to an authoritative account of the test the audit engine applies when it flags a claim as needing substantiation.
Note on this recordThe GOV.UK page carries an “Updated 18 November 2025” stamp but does not state an original publication date, so only the update date is recorded here.
05
CMA200 — Direct consumer enforcement guidance
IN FORCEPartly confirmed
How the CMA intends to use its direct enforcement powers under the DMCC Act — how it opens investigations, what it takes into account, and how it decides on penalties and redress without going through the courts.
Note on this recordRecorded because it describes the enforcement process itself. We have not verified its publication or update dates against the source; read it directly if that matters.
10
Equality Act 2010
IN FORCEPartly confirmed
Governs discrimination in the disposal and management of premises. It is the basis on which the audit engine treats blanket benefit-status exclusions and restrictions framed around family, age or sex in lettings adverts as critical rather than merely risky.
Note on this recordThe specific application to “No DSS” style wording comes from County Court rulings in 2020, which are persuasive but not binding precedent. We flag such wording because both major portals prohibit it and because the discrimination risk is real, not because a statute names the phrase.
11
Energy Performance of Buildings (England and Wales) Regulations 2012
IN FORCEPartly confirmed
Requires a valid Energy Performance Certificate before a property is marketed, and requires the rating to be stated in the advertisement. This is a standalone duty rather than part of the material information framework, which is why the audit engine reports a missing EPC separately.
Note on this recordThe Regulations apply to England and Wales; Scotland and Northern Ireland have their own instruments, which we do not currently track. Exemptions exist and are not enumerated here. We have not re-verified the commencement or amendment history against the source.
12
Building Safety Act 2022
IN FORCEPartly confirmed
The framework behind cladding, remediation and building safety disclosure for flats. Relevant to listings because cladding and EWS1 status can determine whether a flat is mortgageable at all, which makes it information a buyer plainly needs.
Note on this recordCommencement was staged and the detail is complex. We do not assert which provisions applied when; the audit engine only prompts agents to address building safety on flats.
Pending4
06
Material Information in Property Listings (consultation)
AWAITING PUBLICATIONPartly confirmed
A government consultation on how official guidance should support agents in meeting their legal duty to give buyers material information, and how that guidance can improve consumer understanding. It focused on residential sales, with lettings to be considered separately.
Authority
Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government
Status
AWAITING PUBLICATION — Committed to or consulted on, but not published as at the last review date.
Effective
Consultation closed; response pending as at last review
Note on this recordSecondary reporting gives conflicting opening and closing dates for this consultation. We record only that it ran in autumn 2025 and closed in December 2025, and link the consultation directly rather than assert dates we cannot confirm.
07
Non-statutory material information guidance (forthcoming)
AWAITING PUBLICATION
Government has committed to publishing non-statutory guidance on what is likely to count as material information in property listings, sitting under the DMCC Act rather than replacing it. It is intended to fill the gap left by the withdrawal of the NTSELAT guidance.
Authority
Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government
Status
AWAITING PUBLICATION — Committed to or consulted on, but not published as at the last review date.
Note on this recordThis is the single most consequential pending item for anyone writing listings. When it is published, the audit engine’s taxonomy should be reviewed against it and this record updated to IN FORCE with its real publication date.
08
Home buying and selling reform programme
EXPECTEDPartly confirmed
The wider programme the material information guidance sits inside: identifying “sales pack” information that can be provided upfront voluntarily in the short term, with legislation signalled later in this Parliament to require sales packs, binding contracts and digital property data.
Authority
Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government
Status
EXPECTED — Announced as an intention, without a confirmed publication date.
Effective
Phased — legislation signalled for later in this Parliament
Note on this recordDirection of travel is upfront disclosure becoming standard rather than optional. Timings beyond the published roadmap are not asserted here.
09
Code of Practice for property agents (forthcoming)
EXPECTEDPartly confirmed
A Code of Practice setting minimum standards for property agents, proposed initially on a non-statutory basis, with government signalling it may legislate to put it on a statutory footing if necessary.
Authority
Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government
Status
EXPECTED — Announced as an intention, without a confirmed publication date.
Effective
Not in force — proposed on a non-statutory basis initially
Note on this recordThe commitment and the non-statutory basis are stated in the roadmap; the content, scope and publication date are not, and are not assumed here.
No longer applies2
02
Consumer Protection from Unfair Trading Regulations 2008
SUPERSEDEDPartly confirmed
The regime that governed misleading actions and omissions in property marketing until the DMCC Act took over. The withdrawn NTSELAT material information guidance was written against these Regulations, which is why its withdrawal followed the change of regime.
Authority
UK Parliament (statutory instrument)
Status
SUPERSEDED — Replaced by a later instrument, which is linked on the record.
Effective
Superseded for commercial practices from 6 April 2025
Note on this recordIncluded because compliance checklists and training material still in circulation cite it. Its commencement date is not asserted here — read the instrument if the precise date matters to you.
03
NTSELAT material information guidance (Parts A, B and C)
WITHDRAWNPartly confirmed
The Parts A, B and C split that defined what agents were expected to disclose — Part A the commercial basics, Part B physical and service characteristics, Part C matters that only apply where the property is affected. It was withdrawn following the change of legal regime, and no sector-specific replacement has been published since.
How Particulars uses thisThe audit engine still checks Parts A, B and C. Not because the withdrawn guidance binds anyone, but because it remains the most detailed published account of what consumers were told to expect, and portals still gate uploads on it.
Authority
National Trading Standards Estate and Letting Agency Team
Status
WITHDRAWN — Removed by the body that issued it and no longer maintained.
Note on this recordThe exact withdrawal date is not stated on the primary source. Industry reporting in May 2025 placed it in that month, and Propertymark reported the withdrawal on 9 May 2025. We therefore record the month rather than assert a day. The Parts A/B/C structure is still used by the major portals in their upload validation, which is why the audit engine continues to check against it.
How this page is maintained
Every record here comes from a single data file in the site's source, not from copy written into individual pages. The dates and statuses shown on the homepage and in audit reports are rendered from the same records, so the site cannot say one thing in one place and something else in another.
Each record carries the date it was last checked against its source. Where a primary source does not state a fact — an exact withdrawal date, an original publication date — we record what it does say and mark the rest as unconfirmed rather than filling the gap with a plausible-looking figure.
If you believe something here is wrong or out of date, that is worth telling us: the value of this page is entirely in its accuracy.
Check a listing against all of this
The audit engine applies the disclosure expectations described above to your listing text, and cites which duty each finding engages. Free, no account.